bibim naengmyeon (비빔 냉면)

Last week I went to Korean BBQ in Oakland. Ohgane. It was excellent. We were two Jews, a California “Babe,” her boyfriend, and a Korean woman; let us call her… Sarah. It feels wrong to write about these people on the Internet without their knowledge — I was there as a once-removed interloper — but this isn’t about them. It’s about the noodles that Sarah ordered. They were superthin and spicy and cold. The sauce was red. When I asked Sarah what they were, she just said “Buckwheat noodles.” The answer made me sad, because I worried that “Delicious Korean buckwheat noodles” wouldn’t be enough for me to find them later to make at home every night for the rest of my life, which I kinda wanted to do. But a week later, all is well, for Sarah has come through! Over the transom comes this link:

click on the noodles

Where can I find these? In the old days, I would just research Korean groceries in San Francisco, write down some addresses, go try them, and that would be it. But now my life is such that I have to write a 500-word blog post with digressive playful annoying preambles and regular ambles and postambles with embedded Lee Hazelwood songs and stories about the first time I ate a noodle and on and on, culminating in a link to a yelp page I found in four seconds for a store I’ve never been to. Sorry, Lord.

And so on.

Also:

7 thoughts on “bibim naengmyeon (비빔 냉면)

  1. Neil

    The kudzu variation mentioned by wikipedia seems critical. I imagine a great Southern food revolution–families fanning themselves on the porch, sippin; on sweet tea and slurping great heaps o nangamon in the afternoon shade. Cannabis economy.

    Reply
  2. arockridgelife

    I’m really fragile right now, but just visiting Good Jobbbbbbbbbb gives me a bit of strength. If you want your mind blown, go to Koreana Plaza in Oakland. They’ll have what you are looking for no question. If you don’t have a car, I’m sure you can find someone who does who might be deserving of a trip to this mecca of Eastern food glories.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

