Howdy, quoinstone

so says wordpress–it doesn’t know how I feel! Reading those words is like picking up a giant corded telephone and setting it on a skillet until it switches to that “hang me up” flustered-stutter tone and then mashing it against my ear. Reader, it is 8 a.m., my resolve is dwindling, my ear is pinking, somewhere MG is working my accent into his video-art script. Should I… should I write a video-art script?

[a birth canal. CT is asleep.]

okay, good, we’ll shoot that on friday. I might as well be trying to write on an abandoned hubcap with a retractable trash spear, on a highway median that is really a carpool lane. My community-service supervisor sent me there out of pure amoral curiosity. He stopped the city van in the road and told me to get out and I did, and now I’m crouching down, my trash spear retracted, trying to inscribe something worthwhile on a scratch-resistant hubcap. In a minute I’ll be run over by a modular home, or a boat; I can only see the truck, and the veiled shape behind it could be anything. Googling trash spear I remind myself that I’ve lost my ability to understand plot summary (“Part of Hammer’s scheme to get Ann back and to satisfy his personal antipathy towards all the inhabitants of the Bronx is to start a big gang war. To this end, he recruits Ice, with the promise that with Trash out of the way he can assume his rightful role as leader of the Riders. Ice gives him Trash’s spear because Hammer knows that Trash is going to Ogre for help in locating Ann (she went and got herself captured by the Zombies, after they were able to drop a cargo net on Trash)”–what?? Is this real? Every time I try to read it I feel like I’m being annoyed by a piece of op-art, or attempting to walk up one of those Escherian staircases that math and science classrooms made sure I understood to be relevant to precollegiate academics. “Chris’s craggy face is familiar from his roles in Django Strikes Again and Manhattan Baby, the Fat Man and Little Boy of his career.” Is that good or bad?).

Let’s talk, instead, about the November 2006 issue of artforum that’s in the bathroom: “How were heretofore undetectable elements going to emerge, disappear, reemerge, and coalesce to become truths, the always provisional, procedural, multiple truths of politics, science, art, and love?” Can Bronx Warriors help us answer this question? I need help, seriously.

One thought on “Howdy, quoinstone

  1. Boot spike

    Date: Fri, 13 Apr 2007 04:32:08 +0800 [04:32:08 PM EDT]
    From: Susana Christopher
    Subject: Stop being obese and unhappy

    “I hate to acknowledge it but I was an awful food addict. I ate all this garbige and was unable to stop. This misery finished after I started taking Anatrim! Holy God, my inclination to eat constantly abated, spirits improved and I’m the happiest person on the planet 28 pounds in 2.5 months. I can tell you now I’m the happiest person in the world!”

    Amelia B., Chicago

    “Since the very childhood I was a bulky boy. You can’t fancy how I detested being ridiculed at school. I hated my plumpness and I detested myself. After trying this and that I heard about Anatrim. This stuff literally dragged me out of this horror! Many thanks and a great respect to you, my friends.”

    Mikkey Fox, San Francisco

    Reply

Leave a Reply

