peace in the valley

Sometimes Animal Collective comes on any of the forty internet/college/freeform radio stations I listen to all day at work and I’m kind of like, Really? You’re playing Animal Collective again? Then I look down and see a white apron, white shirt, black slacks, all covering a super-ripped gym-toned body, and I’m like, Whoa! I’ve fallen through a wormhole! Now I’m a male model, living in NYC, working part-time as a waiter at a fancy restaurant in the meatpacking district! No time to think more about how this happened! I better check on table six!

ME: How is everything?

JEFFREY KATZENBERG: We’re terrific. Actually, can we get another bottle of this Malbec?

DAVID GEFFEN: If I drink another glass of Malbec I’ll queef. Weren’t we eyeing that Ribera del Duero?

KATZENBERG: Bitch, the only thing I was eyeing was… your face.

[The joke, such as it is, falls flat. Everyone lapses into an uncomfortable silence. A BlackBerry begins vibrating and flashing, and does a weird sideways dance across the tablecloth. I’ve got to say something! I’m going to break the ice!]

ME: You know, we actually just got a very few bottles of a Gran Tinto, from Peru. Our buyer tried to keep it all for him and his boyfriend. Then our owner tried to do the same thing, something about his wife’s birthday. It was actually our pastry chef, Bianca, who’s a fiery young lesbian with a shock of canary-yellow hair floating atop an otherwise bright-red rat’s nest of a coiffure–who convinced everyone to leave at least a few bottles for our most preferred and celebrated customers.

DAVID GEFFEN: I’m willing to risk it.

KATZENBERG: Sure, me too. Why not. We’ll try a bottle.

ME: No, I said our most preferred customers.

[A terrifying microsecond elapses, and then I waggle my eyebrows with almost infinitesimal subtlety. The table roars with laughter and approval. I have succeeded again!!]

[Laughter gradually subsides. The assistants look at each other. They are so fucking hot!!! They’re wearing polka-dots and are seriously the hottest people you’ve ever seen. You would murder a puppy just to get close enough to smell their hair. They’re really cruel and selfish, though, so forget about it.]

[The Animal Collective song, which has been playing this whole time, except with a weird string quartet restaurant-wormhole remix thing happening, isn’t this a WEIRD SCENARIO, you guys?, finally ends. I look down and I’m wearing an oversized polar fleece with tahini stains all over it. I am back in my office.

I walk over to the overturned ice-cream truck. Ponder for a moment, then clamber on top. I’m a spazzy, inadept climber, and it almost seems like I’m going to slide off at several key moments. Planted audience members should be gasping with exaggerated fauxfear for my safety. I’m finally on top, where I brush myself off, compose myself, and address the audience.]

ME: I’m judging “Literary Merit” as a part of that “Literary Death Match” thing at the Elbo Room tonight (3/13/09). Starts at 7, costs money. 647 Valencia St @ 17th St. Don’t come. It’s a weird concept this time. Comedians will be reading works from other writers? Like Cheever and Barthelme? And Saunders and Tao Lin??? I don’t really get how I’m supposed to judge (or compare) the literary merit of those writers — normally it’s authors reading their own works…. we’ll see. I’m planning on being drunk and either super-fake antagonistic or super-faux saccharine. Anything but sincere. I have eaten sixteen dinners in the last forty-eight hours.

Not pictured: Gisele Bündchen

Not pictured: Gisele Bündchen

6 thoughts on “peace in the valley

  1. Pete Sellers

    Hi Pussycat,

    We’re in Austin and Heidi and I miss Rodney. We keep calling him, but he’s in London. Anyway, the worst part of the trip has been the weather. So cold! Oh girl, you would not believe how many books we are selling to famous filmmakers and poetry professors. We met a guy named Nick who talked about how he was chubby. Why are you always farting in your blog? Heidi wants to know.

    Anywoof, you should listen to the new Killers album.

    Oh, Heidi ordered smashed dicks tonight and got a bunch of unflavored pork with no stew on top.

    Love,
    Gravy Train

    Reply
  2. Pete Sellers

    Actually, the person we miss the most is YOU, not Rod. It’s true! We miss the hot stink you pour all over your granny crack. Do you think we can hang out sometime? I mean, after I get “made” on MTV?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

