personal pan pizza

—Quit drinking coffee, day 4, still feel a little moony, a little spacey, but pretty much out of the woods

—Blog, internet, writing, friends, harmful, peaceful occlusions. Dog just realized “Mystery Science Theater 3000” is a brilliant name for a (brilliant) TV show. Couldn’t get enough of the photographs accompanying this NYT article about The Onion, which is the same as every article ever published about The Onion apart from the photos (they have an office dog with its own cubicle!) and the Wells Tower quote.

articleLarge

"Dummy, the office dog, has her own cubicle."

Harper’s article about the twilight of the newspaper industry is really all about San Francisco and the Chronicle. Haven’t finished it yet. It’s one of those full-spaces-between-every-paragraph ominous/spooky/arty/artful/impressionistic/imperious thought-essays. I like reading about San Francisco.

Still haven’t read Gideon Lewis-Kraus on Matthew Crawford. Semi-randomly picked up Anna Karenina at the blazingly awesome McNally Jackson bookstore when I was in New York. I’ve never read a “great” Russian novel, had just read Pnin and enjoyed the two professors’ conversation about Tolstoy, figured AK was a good place to start. I’m enjoying it a lot, but since then realized I probably should have read four Dostoyevsky novels first. It’s cool. There’s time. That’s next. Also looking forward to following up AK with Elif Batuman‘s great-sounding The Possessed: Adventures With Russian Books and the People Who Read Them.

I think something is happening here at noon on Saturday.

What else.

When I drank coffee, I was hot salsa. Now I am mild.

Manivah Thai makes really good Thai food for you, if you ask them to

5 thoughts on “personal pan pizza

  1. kona coffee/rona jaffe

    Thanks, editors of Good Jobbbbbbbbb, for providing a link so that your readers may click through to pre-order copies of Elif Batuman’s THE POSSESSED: Adventures with Russian Books and the People Who Read Them (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, February 2010).

    Reply
  2. miss bitters/baffled

    “great-sounding”
    yes exactly
    want me to tell you about the time that elif batuman told me my undergraduate thesis was “insufficient… no better than a certain kind of really good magazine writing” and how much that confused me, considering how much magazine writing she does?

    Reply
  3. jessica

    I’m not really clever enough to comment here, but I read Anna Karenina in high school and was therefore surprised by the ending, but alternatingly annoyed by the two narratives. Also, is coffee really that bad for you? Are you pregnant?

    Reply
  4. quilty Post author

    Jessica I think you are actually too clever (in the British sense) to comment here. Elif Batuman’s introduction to The Possessed and Pevear and Volokhonsky’s intro to Anna Karenina BOTH gave away the ending and key plot moments of AK. The “list of principal characters” at the front of my ed. of Anna K. also gave away key stuff (“she later marries…”). So I’m reading it knowing all the big stuff that happens. Which is annoying because it seems like the kinda book where you want to be surprised! But I’m still enjoying it. But pretty often I eye JG Ballard’s HIGH-RISE with envy, sitting groovily on my desk… only nine thousand million more pages of Tolstoy to go…

    Coffee is not bad for you but I didn’t like being a slave, a dependent. No more peaks and valleys. Now I am a boring neuro-mesa. It’s OK. I may return to the craggy basin and range of coffee someday. For now I am on an “off cycle”. I am pregnant. I AM PREGNANT!!!

    Jawbone you’re “something”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

