Delicate Squint

CAL: Five hours of sleep.

HERA: Four.

CAL: Three hours of sleep.

HERA: Two.

[A cool cat swiffs itself across the linoleum, wiping it clean but leaving a trail of black hairs]

CAL: An hour of sleep.

HERA: I’m changing my major. From philosophy to social justice.

CAL: Social justice is a major?

HERA: What I mean is, I’m dropping out of college to become an activist.

CAL: Why?

HERA: Because reading Henry James all day isn’t helping address income inequality in this country.

CAL: Neither is writing angry blogposts about income inequality. Or standing on the streetcorner arguing with Republicans about income inequality.

HERA: It’s better than nothing. And also you are cynical. Political change in America is possible. People change their minds.

CAL: No they don’t.

HERA: Be serious.

CAL: I am being serious!

HERA: Well, I have to finish cooking and then I need to do some online banking.

CAL: Can I help?

HERA: No.

CAL: OK. Let me know if you need help.

HERA: I will.

CAL: Thanks. OK.

HERA: All right.

CAL: See you soon?

HERA: [Does not answer. Performs several online banking tasks. Cooks an arpeggio of salad. Fantasizes about a field mouse turning on a hot spit. Fantasizes about being Cal’s waitress at a fancy restaurant she also owns and is the head chef for. She hands him the menu, her hair in adorable sweaty strands adorning her face. Cal looks down at the menu and reads, half to himself, “Roasted Field Mouse.” Their eyes meet. This is love. This is scintillation. This is mutual attraction. This is Vermont in the 1980s.]

CAL: [Approaches a donut. Purchases it. Eats it in half-furtive bites from his open jacket pocket. Looks down to see he has paws. Big blue CGI family-friendly bear-paws. He has had five hours of sleep. He is perennially, perpetually “on deadline.” He will tell people he’s “on deadline” even if by that he means he needs to go to the pharmacy by this evening or else he’ll be unable to pick up his prescription without re-ordering it.]

[Cal once helped name a craft beer. It’s called PawPrint Blue Stout. He often orders it when he drinks at the Lathe.]

LATER THAT NIGHT, AT THE LATHE

CAL: [His voice thick with the foamy syrup of a fresh PawPrint Blue Stout]: I got five hours of sleep last night.

5 thoughts on “Delicate Squint

  1. Adam

    sweet sweet honey. here’s my point about facebook, it’s just a long informercial for yourself. a two hour informercial for me. that’s wrong. I don’t even know. do the kale subscription program. send kale. that’s true. we should do that.

    Reply
  2. Adam

    yo, paparazzo isn’t working. please drop everything and fix this. this is important. if you won’t accept that, I’m here to tell you for your own good. that’s so raw. it’s deep and it’s raw. I’m doing my best. nobody uses twitter. tune in to vile jelly. it’s like I’m a tv actor who’s only. one of my best friends etc

    Reply
  3. quilty Post author

    you too, adam. i think of this blog as an abandoned containership with one forgotten stowaway on board, slowly eating through the thousands of packets of vacuum-packed tuna, sending out sporadic prose poems over the VHF. He though he was alone on board for years until one day ADAM APPEARED, BEARING MORE TUNA AND A DJEMBE

    Reply

Leave a Reply

